Doritos Super Bowl Commercials, and staying on schedule

Lots of things come up when you’re shooting something low budget. The old adage ‘what can go wrong will go wrong’ when it comes to filmmaking seems less true as technology continues to advance filmmaking… but people will always be people.

8 for Vegas was pushed back quite a few times because of some scheduling conflicts and, in the end, we went a completely different way than we originally thought we would, in terms of story. We have had 5 shoot days, all with good results. But, because we have such a large cast of characters (large being 8), occasionally we have to scrap a production day because a person cannot make it.

Sometimes we shoot around them, as we did last Sunday. Ian, who plays Ian, had a scheduling conflict because of Hurricane Sandy. So, I took the cast and shot around his parts so that we didn’t waste an entire Sunday. We were to shoot the entire finale this Sunday, and I just found out that one of our main characters will not be there… so. I had to schedule an additional shoot, two weeks from Sunday, to get everything we will miss this Sunday.

In the end, it works out, you know, because you’re not rushing and you can get THE shots you need, not just shots that will do in a pinch. My cast and crew are awesome, and we’re having fun this season, so… if you watched the first season of 8 for Vegas, I’m sure you’ll enjoy Season 2.

Tomorrow I have a shoot with Marc Palmieri. We are shooting the remainder of episodes 4 and 5 of The Thing… and then the Sunday 8 for Vegas shoot… and then it’s a holiday week, so I’ll be spending my time playing CoD: Black Ops II.

Now, I wrote here a couple of times that Marc and I shot a Doritos commercial. After we shot it, I went home, began editing, and saw that we actually had two commercials. You can check them out here, on Facebook:

Commercial 1

Commercial 2

Now, #1 was the original idea. I was sitting at my computer piecing it together and originally thought we didn’t have a 100% well shot commercial. The problem was, I was watching 45 minutes of screaming children who wanted to play on their iPad, and I was having a hard time seeing the entire picture.

Plus, believe it or not, creating a 30-second commercial isn’t easy. Pace is your biggest issue.

The first iterations of the commercial that I showed my producer partner Julie and Marc… there were 3. But, before there were three, there were a dozen, and I couldn’t wrap my head around what was funny and what wasn’t.

I was sitting there, getting frustrated, and I’m watching this little girl beat the shit out of an empty bag of Doritos and I got the idea of scraping the original 5 Stages of Grief… not SCRAPING… but I started thinking ‘would a 4 year old girl go through 5 stages of grief? Or would she just go insane…’

I pieced 5 screaming clips together and subsequently laughed my ass off. I sent both to my friends and got great feedback.

But, at this point, I had to leave my computer and not look at that face or hear that screaming, because I was getting TOO close to the project to be unbiased.

Days passed where I would creep back to edit, and then send out another draft to people to give me opinions on.

In the end, I’m very happy with the two ads. I think they’re both strong ideas, and everyone seems to be enjoying them.

So. If you’re reading and you watched them, let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading!

John Painz

Leave a Reply

